Comfort

Isn’t it amazing how we need comfort? Some people find comfort in food, some find comfort in always wearing a blanket while sleeping, some people find comfort in shopping….most of us have found comfort in our iPhone…..believe me! You are probably thinking that you aren’t tied to your phone….but leave it away for an hour or two & you will most likely find your anxiety level rise unusually. (To some people the comfort has turned into an addiction but that is another story.)

The other day I watched a documentary about Dalai Lama & they showed how the Buddhist monks spend hours & dedication in creating & working on a piece of art. However once the piece of art was assembled they went & destroyed it. The reasoning is that they want to discourage themselves from comfort.

Here I’m laying in my bed with my blanket wrapped around me, wearing my favorite pajamas & chewing away on some real tasty Swedish licorice – scribbling my blog post on my iPhone. All in the comfort of some cozy lights & a cuddly baby laying right next to me. All doing the opposite of what the Buddhist monk is working on conquering. (Except for my baby) – I do know that I need to work on my comfort. Lowering my need of having comfort around me. The less ties we got to anything external the easier it is to live life to the fullest.

20140123-212343.jpg

2 thoughts on “Comfort

    • Aww Thank you Nancy! Definitely a work in progress for myself as well. And you are right – when the picture was taken I had the words – freedom & openess in mind! I hope you are having a beautiful & grateful day!

Leave a Reply

